Google+ is Shutting down on 2nd April 2019 – Do a back up

Google+ is Shutting down on 2nd April , 2019 

Google has decided to shut down Google+ account / Google+ pages.
In last December, Google had made its intentions clear on shutting down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining the product up to consumers’ expectations.

In its advisory, the Google has stated that on April 2nd, the Google+ account and any Google+ pages created by individuals will be shut down and content from consumer Google+ accounts shall be deleted including Photos and videos from Google+ Album Archive and Google+ pages will also be deleted.

As stated, the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.

Google has advised that one can download and save one’s content, before April.

It has been clarified that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

From February 4th, creation of  new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events shall not be allowed. Full for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown can be seen here

How you can be impacted

If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public communityLearn more

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons. Learn more

If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019Learn more

If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. Learn more

If you’re a developer using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-in, click here to see how this will impact you.

----------- Similar Posts: -----------

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to ABCAUS Newsletter

Get reliable, authentic and latest updates on taxation/corporate and other laws in your mail box free.



After subscribing, please check your email (including spam or junk folder) and activate the subscription link by clicking it.